

DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

2023 Graduate Honors & Awards Reception

.....

April 27th, 2023 4:30p.m. - 6:30 p.m.

A. James Clark Forum University of Maryland, College Park

A Celebration of Achievement

Congratulations to all students on your many achievements and successes!

WELCOME & CLOSING REMARKS

Dr. Peter Sandborn

Professor of Mechanical Engineering Director of Graduate Studies Associate Chair for Academic Affairs

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

Dr. Peter Chung Professor of Mechanical Engineering

2022 Zolve Scholarship

Awarded to Arjun Aravind Palat Meethale

2022 ASME SERAD Student Safety Innovation Challenge

Awarded to Colin Schell, 2nd place Camille Levine, Honorable Mention

2023 Vertical Flight Foundation Scholarship

Awarded to Colleen Murray

2022 Clark Fellows

Awarded to Arko Chatterjee Kathryn Pacheco Kieran Barvenik Michael Xu

2022 ASME DSCD Rising Star

Awarded to Lasitha Weerakoon

.

2023 Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship

Awarded to Weidi Yin

2022 Sponsored Student at the U.S. Women in Nuclear Conference

Awarded to Camille Levine

2023 Distinguished Graduate Endowed Fellowship for Energy Innovation in ME

Awarded to Po-Ching Hsu

2022-2023 Graduate Student Summer Research Fellowship

> Awarded to Qiongyu Chen, Summer 2022 Colleen Murray, Summer 2023

2022 Best Thesis Award from the IAFSS for the Americas

> Awarded to Parham Dehghani

2022 C. Raymond Knight Endowed Scholarship in RE

Awarded to Colin Schell

2023 Department of Energy UNLP Award

Awarded to Samantha Wismer

2022 Scholarship of the Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers

Awarded to Vishal Sankar Sivasankar

2022 Top 5 Abstract at the American Burn Association Annual Meeting

Awarded to Yi-Ming Kao

2022 Travel Assistance Award for the APS Shock Conference

Awarded to Jesse Hearn

2023 National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship

Awarded to Michael Bonthron

........

2022 Best Student Poster at the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics Conference

Awarded to Vedant Kumar

2023 L3 Communications Fellowship

Awarded to Hirbod Akhavantaheri

2023 ACC Student Travel Grant

Awarded to Weidi Yin

2022 Grace Hopper Celebration Student Scholarship

Awarded to Sara Honarvar

2023 USNC/IIR Outstanding Young Researcher Paper Award

> Awarded to Nehemiah Emaikwu

2022 Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award

Awarded to Vedant Kumar Thank you to our generous donors and supporters who make many of these awards and fellowships possible.



A. JAMES CLARK SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING



DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING